Finally Getting Somewhere

Benjamin’s left lung is starting to show improvements, but not enough for us to be sent home. The next step in helping the lung inflate is trying a cuffed trach to lessen the leak even more, therefore, keeping more pressure in his lungs. Yay! We are finally getting somewhere. The only problem is we have to wait til Monday for the trach, so our earliest discharge will probably be Tuesday.

Tonight is Benjamin’s benefit and I am so sad that we are not able to attend. For those of you who gave, but did not attend, this is what I sent for KC to read…

When KC mentioned to me that he wanted to move back to St. Charles Parish, I had two questions…what is there? And where is it? Well I quickly learned where it was, but it wasn’t until recently that I truly learned “what is here.” I have found a community so caring of its family and friends, and a community that supports its members when needed and cheers them on in their triumphs. This community has made this road our family travels so much easier.

I am so sorry that I can’t thank each of you personally for everything you have done. I will leave that up to KC. I am also sorry that most of you have not had the chance to meet the angel you come here tonight to support. Though Benjamin has some special needs, he is a happy and good natured little boy who has changed so many lives around him. I know I am a better and happier person because of him.

I will keep this short because I am sure whoever is reading this is fighting back tears. 🙂
Thank you once again for everything you have done and everything you have given.
Because of your generosity, we are able to provide Benjamin with the care and attention he desperately needs. Each of you hold a special place in our hearts.

20120818-192310.jpg

One thought on “Finally Getting Somewhere

  1. Sorry that we were unable to attend the celebration last night. I had to work evenings and our Kaylie Bug has mono and just got out of the hospital so Brian was with her. We had bought our tickets and were planning on attending but as y’all know life happens! Ben is such a cutie and we are still keeping him in our prayers. God be with y’all.

Leave a Reply

