What Are Taxes For?

Just when you think you are having a bad day, you go and rip a hole in your favorite jeans in a place that requires you to change clothes. πŸ™‚ This was the turning point in the day that turned my tears into laughter.

Today, I was notified that Benjamin will no longer receive disability benefits because we make too much money. (what was I thinking, of course his disability should be determined by income, not by need….note sarcasm) KC and I have worked very hard to take care of our family, paid taxes, and made financial choices we thought were best for our family. Now, we could use the services in which we paid into, but apparently we worked TOO hard. Thankfully, because Benjamin qualified as an infant, his Medicaid services will last for a year. At that time, the government will decide if he continues to qualify. This will be something that we will have to fight, but sadly, this takes away time that I could be spending with Benjamin. (stepping off my soapbox)

Before Benjamin, I probably would have let the stress of this consume me. I now know I must live in the moment. I must let go of what might happen and spend time enjoying my family instead of being overwhelmed with stress. God and family have helped us get past every hurdle, and everything always seems to work out.

Benjamin continues to do well, growing quickly, and is now over 15 pounds. He is not only tolerating his speaking valve well, but he is also starting to make cooing sounds even with the valve off. I can actually hear him in his room now. Yay! Benjamin and I have been working on trying to make sounds while bringing his lips together. (yes, we are working on saying mama). Twice he made a low sound while puckering. I’ll take it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

