“Pray, Have Faith, Then Trust”

Saturday, I attended a local Women’s Morning of Prayer and Inspiration led by Lorraine Hess with the theme of “Pray, Have Faith, Then Trust.” We read over verses about Martha and Mary discussing moments in which their faith was tested with the death of their brother Lazarus. Mary was upset with Jesus for not helping Lazarus sooner, but Martha had faith that through God, her brother could live…and he did.

We talked about Mary and Martha, and Lorraine wanted us to take a moment, alone, to see in what ways we are like Mary and in what ways we are like Martha from this verse in the bible. I get very uncomfortable with “work” at conferences. I don’t like to fill out questions about myself. I don’t like to share what I learned. So, when we were asked to spend a few moments reading over the bible verses to see how it can relate to our lives, I was a little less than thrilled. I decided to go sit out in my car alone. My car is really the only place where I am alone, and I feel like I have more “ah-ha” moments there. I sat, reading the verses at least three times, and had almost decided I wasn’t getting anything out of this until… “ah-ha.”

There are three things that I really stress about on a daily basis, one of which is how to make sure that Lennon and Isla become loving, caring, and spiritual adults. When it comes to Benjamin, I have fully put my fears about his future into God’s hands and have FAITH in him like Martha did. I don’t worry about who he will become, what he will do, how he will live, because I have faith that God will take care of him. So…why do I not feel the same way about Lennon and Isla. Yes, Isla and Lennon will be exposed to more social challenges than Benjamin, but at some point I need to have faith that God will take care of them. I worry how we discipline them (is it too much, is it too little), I worry about what they are exposed to, I worry if we are good role models, I worry do we give them enough attention or too much, I just pretty much hope that we don’t do anything to screw them up. 🙂 I know I can’t be the only parent that feels this way. So this is where I am like Mary. It was almost like someone slapped me in the face. Why haven’t I realized this sooner?! We must “Pray, Have Faith, Then Trust.”

We also read a verse from Luke 10:38-42.
As they continued their journey he entered a village where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him. She had a sister named Mary who sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak. Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving? Tell her to help me.” The Lord said to her in reply,”Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.”

These two exerts from the bible helped me realize that I have been too busy worrying and “serving” my children to really enjoy who they are now and who they are becoming. We as parents work so hard to make our children happy and try to do the right things that we don’t take a moment to step back and enjoy watching them grow with God. We must remember that God has them…all we can do is lead by example. We must “Pray, Have Faith, Then Trust.”

The following picture was one of my Mother’s Day gifts. This was by far the best Mother’s Day yet.

20130513-160008.jpg

Leave a Reply

