Overwhelmed

Overwhelmed: to have a strong emotional effect on.

In the past month, we have bought a house, sold a house, moved, finished a playground, and graduated. I have been on the phone for hours changing addresses, changing companies, and arranging healthcare. I have been happy, sad, stressed, excited, anxious, and overwhelmed in a good way and in a not so good way. At least once a day I have to stop, breathe, and pray…pray for peace and calmness, but also pray in thanks for everything we have been given.

Last night, KC officially finished his residency, so we had a wonderful night out and my first night away from the kiddos in a long time. I am so proud of him, and it was so wonderful to be able to give my undivided attention to KC, since usually my attention is divided into 5. Before we headed home today, we were lucky enough to spend time with our friends over breakfast, then we were able to see a movie for our anniversary (a movie that was not a cartoon). 🙂

On our drive home, I reached over to KC and mentioned how lucky and blessed we are. I said we have a great life, great marriage, great kids, great jobs, and the list continues. Now, at no point do I think our life is perfect, but I think that since Benjamin has been born, I see things a little clearer. I thank Benjamin all the time for saving me, for bringing me closer to God, and for changing my life. I am definitely a work in progress, but with a much clearer goal. KC and our children are my life, and it’s crazy how much I miss them when I am away from them.

Though our life has definitely not turned out as we planned, I know it is His plan and therefore, I will try to keep my focus on being overwhelmed with the wonderful and joyous things in our life while trying to avoid being overwhelmed with earthly issues. All clouds have silver linings, and rainbows follow storms. It’s just crazy how sometimes we have to be negatively overwhelmed before we realize that we are also wonderfully overwhelmed.

20140629-001330-810873.jpg

Leave a Reply

