First Christmas in Heaven

  What we learned from Benjamin’s First Christmas in Heaven and the Santa Festivities this year…

1.  Teaching your kid to be good for Santa can backfire…Lennon was up til 1:30 crying because she thought Santa wasn’t coming. (I was beginning to wonder myself). This was after a teary confession the day before about drinking DR Pepper at a friends. (Had to fight back the laughter)

2.  Illness hits after 10pm Christmas Eve… Isla was up til 1:30 crying about an ear ache. (I may have been on the verge of tears myself at this point)

3.  Rush only needed toothbrushes for Christmas. (He has only played with plastic cups and his sisters toothbrushes.) 

4. I realized that we have had a baby announcement on the back of our Christmas card two years in a row. (Wow, that’s crazy.) 

 5. Each holiday, they receive a book from Benjamin. This Christmas I was hesitant on the book I purchased since it hit a little too close to home, but once again Santa knew best. Lennon was so excited to continue to remember her brother during the holidays. (Warning: Grab a tissue before reading.)

  6.  Holidays are tough without Benjamin, and I am not sure if they will get easier. I miss him and I miss him more everyday. I believe I hide my sadness well from the kids, but I can’t help but feel like a part of our life is missing. On the other hand, I am able to better appreciate the holidays with the rest of the kiddos, and what better way to spend Christmas than with the birthday boy Himself. 

7. Seeing the kids understand the  true reason for Christmas is such a blessing. They showed a real appreciation for everything they received… well, Rush will get there. :). There is more talk about Jesus than Santa, and I owe a lot of that to Benjamin, our family and friends,  and this community. 

8. Being blessed isn’t reserved for a few…it’s shown through those who can see past the struggles and can have at least a slight understanding that God’s promises are greater than we can ever imagine.  

  Christmas Blessings to All.

Leave a Reply

